Brief History

The Yemen Family Care Association (YFCA) was founded in 1976 by a group of Yemeni volunteers out of a genuine aspiration to establish a non-governmental organization that aims to raise awareness on reproductive health and family planning at the level of both community and government. YFCA is held in high regard within local communities and well recognized by government, UN agencies, national and international NGOs for extensive attainments, maintaining high credibility and remaining steadily as a neutral and independent organization at all times.
In 1977, YFCA was recognized and authorized by the Yemeni government as the first and exclusive marketer and distributer of contraceptives, on a national level, to all service provision centers, including those of the Ministry of Health. In 1980, YFCA carried out a study on available brands of contraceptives in the Yemeni market, which was the first of its kind in Yemen.
The implementation of such campaign was not easy in a society where even talking about family planning seemed to be dangerous at that time. Nevertheless, YFCA considers the increasing contraceptive prevalence rate as a satisfactory compensation for its perilous endeavors to establish a contraceptive-market in Yemen followed by intensive programs that have lasted for decades with the aim of raising decision makers’ awareness and contribution to changing  behaviors and perception within the families and community.
YFCA has played a significant role on a national level in bringing citizen’s concerns to the attention of government, monitoring policies and implementation of programs, and encouraging the participation of civil society stakeholders in the community. In the early nineties, despite the complexities of the political situation then, YFCA played a significant role in drawing the government’s attention to the importance of adopting a resilient national population policy, and this endeavor resulted in the endorsement of the first National Population Policy in Yemen in 1991 as well as the formation of a National Population Council, chaired by the Prime Minister, in which YFCA was a member representing the national NGOs. This step was crucial and led to the launching of a new era that shed light on perspectives of population issues with a wider scope and profound insight.
YFCA works with alliances on national and international levels to defend and strengthen the ICPD program of action. It has worked specifically to improve access to reproductive health, advocate for reproductive rights and combat gender-based violence.
YFCA continued performing its indefatigable efforts to draw government’s attention to the importance of enacting a legislation that maintains women and young underage girls’ health and dignity. Those efforts have led the government to prepare and submit a draft law on Maternal Health to the parliament for approval. In 2012, YFCA carried out, in cooperation with USAID, a national campaign advocating and calling for the approval of the Maternal Health draft law, which is currently in the parliamentary agenda. Within its clauses, this draft law includes the determination of the minimum legal age of marriage for girls is 17 years. As a result of this campaign, the draft law has gained many supporters in the corridors of the Parliament and we are positively hoping that the final approval will be obtained within this year. In 2014, YFCA played a major role in advocating women’s law that was about to be endorsed by the parliament back then.
Dramatic changes in YFCA mandate were introduced gradually to accommodate the emerging needs of women, children, youth and vulnerable groups. Therefore, to pursue our unchanging humanitarian mission, we have been increasing our interventions through providing services and relief to the people in need and demanding their rights by working as a pressure group that joins the affected communities and works closely with them. 
For four decades, YFCA has been playing a unique role in strengthening cooperation, professionalism, governance, and effective development of many Civil Society Organizations which are working across different sectors in Yemen.
YFCA will thoughtfully continue its expansion process to respond to the community’s ever changing needs. Driven by its Health and Gender Mainstreaming perspective, YFCA programs incorporate wider thematic interventions including Nutrition, Protection, Food Security, Agriculture and Livelihood, Education, Early Recovery, WASH and Shelter.

لمحة تاريخية

تأسست جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية في عام 1976 من قبل مجموعة من المتطوعين اليمنيين الطامحين لتحقيق تأسيس منظمة غير حكومية تهدف إلى رفع مستوى وعي المجتمع والحكومة حول الصحة الإنجابية وتنظيم الأسرة. وحظيت باعتراف الحكومة ووكالات الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الوطنية غير الحكومية والدولية واكتسبت صدى طيباً عندها وفي اوساط المجتمعات المحلية لإنجازاتها الواسعة والمحافظة على مصداقيتها العالية وبقائها بشكل مضطرد كمنظمة محايدة ومستقلة دوماً.
في عام 1977، كانت الجمعية المنظمة الاولى التي أذن لها من قبل الحكومة بتسويق وتوزيع وسائل منع الحمل كجهة حصرية على المستوى الوطني لجميع مراكز تقديم الخدمات، بما في ذلك تلك التابعة لوزارة الصحة. وفي عام 1980، نفذت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية دراسة عن العلامات التجارية المتاحة لوسائل منع الحمل في السوق اليمني، وتعد الأولى من نوعها في اليمن.
لم يكن من السهل على الإطلاق تنفيذ مثل هذه الدراسة في مجتمع كان تنظيم الأسرة آنذاك مصطلحاً غير معلن وذو حساسية بالغة، ورغم ذلك، اعتبرت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية زيادة معدل انتشار وسائل منع الحمل مؤشراً كافيا لتحقيق مساعيها المحفوفة بالمخاطر لإنشاء سوق وسائل منع الحمل في اليمن تلتها البرامج المكثفة التي استمرت لعقود، لغرض رفع مستوى وعي صناع القرار بأهمية هذه القضية والمساهمة في تغيير السلوكيات داخل الأسر والمجتمع اليمني. 
لقد لعبت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية دورا هاماً في لفت نظر الحكومة، لوضع السياسات والبرامج التنفيذية والرقابية، وتشجيع مشاركة المعنيين في المجتمع المدني في مطلع التسعينيات، وتمكنت الجمعية على الرغم من تعقيدات الوضع السياسي من توجيه انتباه الحكومة إلى أهمية اعتماد سياسة سكانية وطنية قادرة على التكيف، وأدى هذا المسعى الى اقرار السياسة السكانية الوطنية الأولى في اليمن في عام 1991، وتشكيل المجلس القومي للسكان برئاسة رئيس الوزراء، ومثلت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية المنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية في عضوية هذا المجلس. وكانت هذه الخطوة الأهم التي أدت إلى إطلاق عهد جديد أخذ بعين الاعتبار قضايا السكان على نطاق أعمق وأوسع.
وتعمل جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية مع التحالفات على الصعيدين الوطني والدولي للدفاع عن برنامج عمل المؤتمر الدولي للسكان والتنمية وتعزيزها. وعملت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية على وجه التحديد على تحسين فرص الحصول على الصحة الإنجابية، والدعوة إلى الحقوق الإنجابية ومكافحة العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.
وواصلت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية بذل جهود لا تكل للفت إتنباه الحكومة الى اهمية سن التشريعات التي تحافظ على صحة وكرامة المراة والفتيات القاصرات، وتمخضت هذه الجهود في إعداد مشروع قانون صحة الأم والذي تم تسليمه للبرلمان للموافقة عليه. وفي عام 2012، نظمت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية بالتعاون مع الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، حملة وطنية تدعو إلى الموافقة على مشروع قانون صحة الأم المدرج حاليا في جدول أعمال البرلمان. ويشتمل مشروع القانون في بنوده على تحديد السن القانونية لزواج الإناث وذلك ببلوغ سن السابعة عشرة (17). ونتيجة لهذه الحملة، اكتسب مشروع القانون العديد من المؤيدين في أروقة البرلمان. 
 في عام 2014، لعبت جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية دورا رئيسيا في الدعوة إلى قانون المرأة في البرلمان الذي كان على وشك التصديق عليه آنذاك.
ادخلت تعديلات جذرية على مرسوم مهام جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية بشكل تدريجي لمواكبة الاحتياجات الناشئة للمراءة والأطفال والشباب والفئات المستضعفة. ولكي نستمر بمتابعة مهمتنا الإنسانية الثابتة فقد كنا ومازلنا نكثف من تدخلاتنا من خلال تقديم الخدمات والإغاثة للناس ذوي الحاجة والمطالبة بحقوقهم من خلال العمل كمجموعة ضغط تتداخل مع المجتمعات المتضررة وتعمل معها بشكل وثيق.  
وما تزال جمعية رعاية الأسرة اليمنية تلعب دورا فريدا منذ أربعة عقود في تعزيز التعاون والمهنية والإدارة والتطوير الفاعل للعديد من منظمات المجتمع المدني التي تعمل في جميع القطاعات المختلفة في اليمن. 
وستواصل الجمعية عمليتها التوسعية للتجاوب مع الإحتياجات المتغيرة للمجتمع على الدوام.  وذلك انطلاقا من منظورها الخاص بتعميم النوع الاجتماعي، وبرامجها المتضمنة التدخلات بمواضيع واسعة النطاق، تشمل التغذية والحماية والأمن الغذائي والزراعة وسبل العيش والتعليم والإنعاش المبكر والمياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية والمأوى.

مشاركة